Kanye West on Christmas Presents

kanye-west-live-zenith-2013-28

Christmas came early this year

But ultimately, this guy that was talking to me doesn’t make Christmas presents, meaning that nobody was asking for his [stuff] as a Christmas present. If you don’t make Christmas presents, meaning making something that’s so emotionally connected to people, don’t talk to me.

From his New York Times interview. A singular blend of pretension, insight, and stupidity—the everlasting Christmas present Kanye has given all of us. I can’t decide whether I should feel embarrassed for thinking this metaphor establishes a good metric for what we should be aiming at in the production of our art.

3 comments

  1. Berkman

    I don’t really see how any of this is “Behind Kanye’s Mask.” Either this is all a mask, or he has no mask. I don’t really care so much about the mask thing, is what I’m saying.

    The terms/comparisons he borrows (“I want to break the glass ceilings,” “The Michael Jordan of music,” “not on my clock,” etc.) are sort of useless. But the Christmas present thing is great, so is “beauty, truth, awesomeness” and “complete awesomeness at all times.” There are worse metrics. Also: “When you think about it, I was wearing like, a Juicy Couture men’s polo shirt. We weren’t there, like, ready for war.”

    I don’t know if he’s the nucleus, but he’s observant and clever and has a long ‘gevity, even if he is kind of full of shit.

Leave a Reply

